Topic: application of load and constrains

Dear Cervenka Consulting,

I'm a beginner Atena Science user. I have chosen this software for FEM modeling of reinforced concrete beam-column joint which is going to be a part of my dissertation thesis. The model was built in the GID 12.0.2 and a static analysis was run in Atena Studio 3d v.5.

The result of the analysis is reflecting that the model is not working properly. The problem is that tension appears instead of compression in the beam region where load was applied as well the top of the column. Therefore, I would like to ask some help in solving this case. Please find below more information about the model and the applied settings.

First of all, this study focuses on the shear reinforcement behavior in the column and the damage of beam-column joint. I would like to simulate the behavior of a beam-column joint under cyclic load. The top and the bottom of the column is going to be hinged supported in order to allow free rotation.
Beam-column joint geometry:
-cross-section of column and beams: 30x30 cm, column length: 2.10 m, beams length: 80 cm
- materials properties based on the Atena’s recommendations: concrete C20/25 – ConcreteEC2, reinforcement – S500, 1DReinforced  and plates- solid elastic
Conditions:
- constrains for points and lines on the plates
- “fixed contact for surface” (master-slave connection used between the column – beams, column plates, beams- plates) – in each of the intervals.
- monitors for point placed in the 1st interval in order to detect the displacements and the reactions